Make your own free website on



Visit the official web site


Pre Season 2002 Division 2 Write up

Nondies turn to Aussie all-rounder
Oxford Nondescripts have recruited Australian all-rounder Paul Hyland to replace the prolific Dennis Mihaljevich..

However, Hyland may miss Saturday's opening game at home to Abingdon Vale after picking up an injury last weekend.

Opening bat Ian Mead may also miss the early games, and Nondies will be looking to newcomers Charlie Baxter and Angus Hunter-Smart to boost the batting.

One player who won't be playing is Matt Walmsley, who has left the club.

Australian all-rounder James Laverty has joined Abingdon Vale along with former Abingdon School skipper Toby Jones, a quick bowler.

Andy Johnson continues as captain after leading the side to promotion in his first season.

Graham Scott takes over as captain at Cumnor, who were relegated from Division1 last season.

He will be looking to some up-and-coming youngsters to make good the loss of Adam Cook, Ian Crosby and Shazad Rana, who have all moved to Oxford and Horspath. Chris Mitty is in line to keep wicket.

Sandford St Martin, who also came down from the top flight last term, have recruited seamer Charlie Stirling, but Ian Tew has moved to Banbury.

Chalgrove add all-rounder Darren Jones from Wolvercote and Mark Giddy from Tetsworth to their ranks and hope that Ian Rechner, another all-rounder, will be available more regularly.

Skipper Derek Thomas will, however, miss the input of stalwarts Nick Adby, who is playing golf, and Steve Strong, pictured, whose Open University studies are likely to limit his time for cricket.

Great & Little Tew welcome Alan Nye, an Aussie all-rounder, who is on the verge of the Queensland side.

Opening batsman Matt Biker should be available for the whole season, but wicket-keeper Danny Harding has moved to Banbury.

There's little change at Witney Mills where Pierre Lefort, a left-arm quickie, rejoins after several years' absence.

Julian Lawton Smith takes over as captain of Oxford & Horspath 2nd, last season's Division 3 champions. Strengthening of the first team squad means that he should have a stronger side at his disposal especially in the second half of the season when the club's students return from university.

It also presents opportunities for some of the younger brigade such as county under 16 players Will Eason and Will Dobson and 17-year-old Sharaz Rana, who has joined from Morris Motors, to press for places.

Banbury 2nd have a number of homegrown youngsters such as Andrew Procter and Chris Smith who will be looking for higher grade cricket.

Opening bowler Azah Shah, from Horley, and batsman Saneth Wijayaratna, from Yorkshire League cricket via Rover Cowley could also be in the reckoning.

New skipper Philip Hawtrey is looking forward to the challenge of restoring Bourton Vale's fortunes. He has recruited Paul Lazenbury, a left-handed bat and off spin bowler who has played for Gloucestershire and was latterly on Kent's books. Vale also welcome 21-year-old South African Jacques du Toit, a batsman who bowls seamers, as their overseas player, but Richard Howell has moved on to Cheltenham.